SOUTH YORKSHIRE PENSIONS AUTHORITY - ANNUAL MEETING

15 JUNE 2017

PRESENT: Councillor S Ellis (Chair)

Councillors: T Hussain, K Richardson, A Sangar, I Saunders

and R Wraith

Trade Unions: N Doolan-Hamer (Unison) and G Warwick

(GMB)

Officers: S Barrett (Interim Fund Director), G Chapman (Head of Pensions Administration), A Frosdick (Monitoring Officer),

N Copley (Treasurer), M McCarthy (Deputy Clerk) and

G Richards (Democratic Services Officer)

Observers: G Boyington

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor K Harpham, Councillor J Mounsey, Councillor Z Sykes,

Councillor K Wyatt and F Tyas

1 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Councillor Sue Ellis was proposed and seconded as Chair of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Sue Ellis be elected Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

2 APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Councillor Richard Wraith was proposed and seconded as Vice-Chair of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Richard Wraith be elected Vice-Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

3 MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY

A report of the Clerk was submitted to report on membership of the Authority.

The current membership of the Authority was noted as:

Barnsley	Doncaster	Rotherham	Sheffield
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
K Richardson	S Durant	S Ellis	K Harpham
R Wraith	J Mounsey	K Wyatt	T Hussain
	J Wood		A Sangar
	(to 22/6/17)		I Saunders
	S Cox		Z Sykes
	(from 23/6/17)		

RESOLVED – That the report be noted.

4 APPOINTMENT OF BOARDS, COMMITTEE AND CHAIRS

A report was submitted to consider the appointment of Boards, Committees and their Chairs for 2017/18.

Membership was confirmed as follows:

Corporate Planning & Governance Board	Investment Board	Management Committee (Sec 41 Members)
Cllr R Wraith (Chair) Cllr S Ellis (Vice Chair) Cllr S Durant Cllr T Hussain Cllr K Richardson Cllr Z Sykes Cllr K Wyatt	Cllr S Ellis (Chair) Cllr R Wraith (Vice-Chair) Cllr S Cox (from 23/6/17) Cllr K Harpham Cllr J Mounsey Cllr A Sangar Cllr I Saunders	Cllr S Ellis (Chair) Sub: Cllr K Wyatt Cllr R Wraith Sub: Cllr K Richardson Cllr I Saunders Sub: Cllr Z Sykes 2 x vacancies (Doncaster)

RESOLVED – That the report be noted.

5 QUESTIONS IN MEETINGS OF DISTRICT COUNCILS

A Report was submitted to consider the appointment of representatives of the Authority to answer questions raised in meetings of the District Councils and to feedback District Council pensions issues to the Pensions Authority.

Appointments were confirmed as:

Council	Spokesperson	Substitute
Barnsley MBC	Cllr R Wraith	Cllr K Richardson
Doncaster MBC	Vacancy	Vacancy
Rotherham MBC	Cllr S Ellis	Cllr K Wyatt
Sheffield CC	Cllr I Saunders	Cllr Z Sykes

As not all Doncaster Members were in attendance, it was decided to leave that decision to the next meeting.

RESOLVED -

- (i) To agree the Section 41 appointments as detailed above.
- (ii) To defer the Doncaster MBC appointments to the next meeting of the Authority.

CHAIR

Pensions Authority: Thursday 15 June 2017